I miss old vidya

Your browser does not support the video element

Video games used to be something you could always look forward to, but now they're optimised for monetary gain and being addicting instead of just pure fun. There's so much wrong with modern games, but also with video game fans.

Nostalgia?

I don't think it's nostalgia. I play old video games from time to time (I have a PS3 and Nintendo 3DS), and even games that I've never played before give me much more enjoyment than modern games.

I'm playing Gothic series lately, the game is very old and plays weirdly, but the story is very good. Also you can see that a lot of modern RPGs got ideas from this game.

Annoyances of modern games

The thing I hate the most about modern games is how unfun and grindy they're. A lot of games are now RPGs for the sake of gating stuff behind grind and levels, so you spend more time in them.

Games are built in a way that you spend more and more time in them. I'd say it's artificial fun. But if something takes too much time? You can just spend money on the game so it takes less time. It's predatory and annoying.

In my opinion games should be short (up to 10 hours) and have high replayability.

Indies

Indies are thriving now. They're much cheaper than AAA titles, they are not scared of trying something new, and when you play them, you don't feel like you're wasting time.

Here are some recommendations from me:

  • Balatro
  • The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth
  • Buckshot Roulette
  • Everhood
  • OneShot
  • Vampire Survivors
  • Va-11 Hall-a
  • Gato Roboto
  • Armored head
  • Darkest Dungeon
  • Prodeus

oneshot